First Impressions: My Big Fat Fabulous Life

Yeah. It’s been a long (bleeping) time since I have updated my blog. So long that I’m not even going to count back how far. Do I have a good excuse? Well… does binge watching Netflix and naps count as a good excuse? Okay, maybe not. But I got lazy with writing. And by “lazy” I mean I couldn’t figure out what to write or how to put my thoughts down.

Soooo…. anyways… Here we are again. Happy 2015, y’all!

Okay, at this very moment I am watching a show called My Big Fat Fabulous Life on TLC. Have you heard about it? I just discovered it today. It’s about a gal named Whitney who was once a slender girl who loved to dance. But due to a condition called Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), she gained over 200 pounds. With a fresh outlook on life, she is trying to find her way in this world, just like the rest of us.

Check out this video of Whitney discussing how dance helped her turn her life around.

I’ve only watched a bit of this show, but I absolutely love Whitney’s spirit! I can identify a bit with Whitney. I too was diagnosed with PCOS in my mid-20s. While I never gained 200 pounds, I have found it difficult to lose weight, a common side effect of this disease. Before you get all, “Well, just eat less, exercise more. Eat healthy foods. Blah, blah, blah!”, let me drop some knowledge on ya: With PCOS, you can do all the “right things” regarding weight loss and the scale still won’t budge. Often you can do all the “right things” and the scale will still go up. This is frustrating as hell!

Dude- before I go off on a total PCOS tangent, let me get back to the fabulousness of Whitney.

Again, I absolutely love her. I love that she is out there enjoying life and not hiding or crying under the covers like some people expect fat girls to do. I love that she shows her vulnerabilities and struggles on the show. I love that she turns to dance, her first love and passion, to express herself, exercise, and help inspire others. Hats off to you Whitney!

Visit TLC’s site to learn more about My Big Fat Fabulous Life.

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

