It’s Finally Autumn: Get Ready For a New Season in Life

Welcome Autumn

This week we are celebrating the return of autumn. Hooray! A return of cooler temps, changing leaves, and pumpkin flavored everything! This change of season reminds me that just as the weather changes seasons, our lives go through seasons too.

I have had many life seasons as I’m sure you have too. Seasons of joy and sorrow, happiness and sadness, success and overwhelming obstacles. But with each season I have been very glad that God has been by my side, guiding my steps during rough seasons and smooth ones too.

A couple of years ago I went through a really rough season with an ailing parent and my own job loss. Even when things were getting bad, I always kept my faith. There were many times when I said, “God, I don’t know where this is leading me, but I know that you are already there and also here with me to guide me as I move forward.” I meant it then and I still feel that way. I am in a good season season now, and I praise God for that, but I know that God will also be with me during future rough seasons.

Now, someone may say, “C’mon, if you have faith you shouldn’t think that you’ll be in rough seasons ever again.” It’s a myth that faith blocks out all bad seasons. Even Jesus said that we will have rough times in life. But faith means that I have something solid to lean on when those bad things happen. And bad things will happen. There are two days I don’t look forward to: the days when I lose both of my parents. Those will be bad days and I will definitely be leaning on my faith when those days come. I’ve had times when I didn’t know how I was going to pay my bills. I can celebrate in seasons of sorrow because I know that God will guide me through it. I’m not being flippant about that. I take comfort in knowing that God, who helped me back then, will help me today, tomorrow, and every day forevermore.

Happy Autumn everyone!

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

