Don’t Feel Bad About Feeling Good About Yourself

Dont feel bad- roqberry

I’m not sure when self-deprecation and self-hate became the “norm”. And I’m not sure why we put up with it, especially among women. It has become acceptable- even preferable- for us to downplay our talents, our gifts, what makes us special and amazing. 

But why? Granted there is a line toward pride, narcissism, and ego that we shouldn’t cross. And there are many who do that. But remember the last time someone complimented you and you downplayed it? 

Oh this dress? Oh, it’s really old. I just decided to throw it on since everything else is dirty today. 

You like my hair? (Sigh and eyeroll). I really have a tough time with all of this. I’m thinking about changing it.

Or after a great presentation at work: Oh, I guess I did okay. I was really nervous. Could you tell my voice was shaking? And I was rushing. I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped.

We need to own up and accept what makes us special and amazing. God gave each of us talents and gifts that we are to share with the world. There is no need to downplay these amazing gifts. 

We need to stop feeling bad about feeling good about ourselves. It’s okay to feel good about your body, your hair, your smile, your work ethic, your skills, your talents. When you consider that there is and will only be one you- there is something amazing about that.

Don’t deprive the world of your awesomeness.

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

