Birchbox: July 2014

20140719-181807.jpg

This month Birchbox partnered with Women’s Health magazine to create boxes to help subscribers “Power Up” our month. Birchbox partnered with the magazine last year (in April 2013?) and I really like it when they team up with other companies to give us themed boxes. 

I have two Birchbox subscriptions with one profile serving my classic taste and the other for my more adventurous side. So let’s get into my Birchbox vs Birchbox showdown!

252

Box #1: Adventurous/Trendy Profile

260

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Eye Shadow Palette (in Ballerina); Full size 20-color palette, $34

This 4-color sample is totally up my alley regarding the color. I did receive a similar palette a few months ago which I have not yet used. But I will definitely have to give this a shot. It is a perfect size for summer travel too!

262

Beauty Protector Protect & Treat Mask; Full size $25.95 

Sigh. I can not express how sick I am of receiving samples from this brand. It seems like I get samples every bleepin’ month. Will probably give this to a friend.

263

NAOBAY Body Radiance Lotion; Full size $24

I love the fragrance and the texture is perfect- not too thick or thin. It has a slight peppery smell and contains olive oil and avocado oil.

266

Marcelle New-Age 8 in 1 Power Serum; Full size $34

I am a sucker for a good serum and this Birchbox exclusive is an anti-aging gel that hydrates, lifts, firms, and plumps fine lines. It states that you’ll see results in just one week. We’ll see!

271

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel; Full size $48

I have to confess: I am a bit scared of peels. Did you see that episode of Sex & The City when Samantha had a bad reaction to a peel? Yeah- I know that was played up for TV, but I have read that peels can cause redness and I’m so nervous about having a bad reaction. But I will test this in a small area to see how it goes.

 

On to box #2!

275

Box #2: Classic Profile

276

100% Pure Gingerade Shower Gel; Full size $15

This is the Beauty Extra in my box. I received a sample of 100% Pure Mascara that I liked and I am excited to try this one. One thing I do not like is that it is in a foil packet. This are hard to open in the shower, but hey.

279

Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner in Raina (Navy Blue); Full size $11

I received a full-size Sumita eyeliner in my first Birchbox so it’s great to be reacquainted with this brand. I like the navy blue color- it’s a great alternative to black. This is a soft wax pencil that promises to deliver long-lasting color that won’t irritate your eyes.

282

Klorane Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk; Full size $18

I have seen this sample on Birchbox before and am glad I finally got one myself. Yay! 

284

Vasanti Detox Nutrient-Rich Purifying Facial Cleanser; Full size $24

Another brand I sampled in my first Birchbox, this Vasanti cleanser is sulfate-free and gently removes impurities without overdrying. 

286

NAOBAY Body Radiance Lotion; Full size $24

Double trouble, baby! I love getting duplicates of great stuff.

One more thing that was included in each Birchbox was a card to redeem for a free one-year subscription to Women’s Health. If you don’t want to get this magazine, you have the option to request a refund of $9.99. 

Verdict: This is the second month in a row when I’ve enjoyed the selections for my Classic profile more than my Adventurous profile. It actually seems like the products for the Adventurous profile are actually not that Adventurous. I will play around with that profile to see if I can better tweak the samples I get. The samples I like the most this month are the NAOBAY lotion, Sumita eyeliner, Vasanti cleanser, and the Coastal Scents eyeshadow. I so wish I could stop getting hair product samples and have adjusted my profiles as such, but so far no luck. One thing I always do is submit product reviews to get my Birchbox points. I’ve got a good number of points and it is time for this girl to redeem them! I think a Birchbox Haul review is in my future!

You can still subscribe to Birchbox and get the July box with the card for a free Women’s Health magazine subscription. A monthly subscription is only $10 and is a great deal for sampling products and discovering your new favorite thing!

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

