Seeking Those Perfect Moments In My Imperfect Life

20140323-161532.jpg

This morning I did something I haven’t done in a long time: sleep in on a Sunday morning. I often go to the early morning service at my church, but when the alarm went off at 6:15, I immediately said, “No. Not today.” In one quick motion I turned off the alarm and went right back to sleep.

When I awoke a few hours later in my pillowy white cocoon, I gradually became aware of the morning light seeping in through the blinds. The sound of a car going down the street. A dog barking nearby, probably being walked by its owner. A plane overhead heading toward the airport.

Deep breath in. Deep breath out. I relished this moment. With these breaths I thought about the events of last week and the days yet to come. I thought about how these moments lingering in my bed, however quiet, however still, were like the opening credits of a movie that has yet to unfold. I don’t know yet what the plot will be and I may not have complete control over what happens. But in these moments, I look forward to seeing how everything will come together.

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

