Review: 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara

Image

My January Birchbox included a sample of 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara, a product that is 100% organic, vegetarian and colored with black tea and fruit pigments. What kind of fruits, you ask? How about blackberry, black currant and raspberry extracts. The remaining ingredients read like a tasty recipe: lavender honey, cocoa powder, oregano extrant, organic green tea, thyme extract. Wow- who would have thought to put these items in a mascara!

According to Birchbox’s product page, 100% Pure founder Susie Wang discovered that all-natural pigments could replace the chemicals often used in cosmetics. The product line includes additional items like hand buttercream, lip creamstick and lip & cheek tint.

So after all of that I was excited to give this a shot! I normally don’t seek out natural products. Nothing against them- just not on my radar. I think my main concern is while I applaud the concepts, past products haven’t delivered the results I was seeking. Nonetheless I eagerly tried this sample.

My first impression was the sample had a very generous, full brush which I knew would be great for getting the volume that this product promised. I also noticed that the product definitely had a nice fruit scent. That was a pleasant surprise!

What wasn’t a pleasant surprise is that once applied, I could not tell that I had the mascara on. It literally did nothing for my lashes. None. Nada. Zilch. Such a bummer! I am not sure if it is due to the size of the brush compared to the tube opening- maybe too much of the product was wiped off back into the tube. But my lashes really felt, well, naked.

Okay, full disclaimer: I am a Benefit’s They’re Real mascara girl. I am full on in love with that mascara and have been using it for almost two years. But while I didn’t expect the 100% Pure mascara to be a comparable substitute, I was pretty disappointed.

Verdict: I think this product could be a great option for anyone with sensitive eyes or who is seeking all-natural, organic or vegetarian products. While this product isn’t for me, I would be interested in trying some of their other products like the hand cream. You can read more about the mascara and discover more of the 100% Pure product line on Birchbox’s website.

XOXO,

roqberry

One thought on “Review: 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara

Leave a Reply

