Best of Birchbox 2013

I can’t believe we’re already at the end of the year. But you know what- I also can’t believe that it’s been 10 months since I got my first Birchbox. I started with the March 2013 box and while there have been some misses, I have really enjoyed discovering new brands and products that I never would have found without Birchbox. 

So as I look back on the year I wanted to also take a trip down memory lane and recall my favorite Birchbox samples of 2013. 

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Blueberry

They say you never forget your first love. I think this also applies to the first samples you get from Birchbox. I got a sample of this luscious shave cream in my first box and have been in love ever since. My mom was sweet enough to get me a bottle for Christmas. Or was it Santa? Who cares. My legs are smooth and delicious. Okay, maybe that’s a little too much information…

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

I also got this sample in my first Birchbox in March and loved it. I currently use Kiehl’s Epidermal Re-Texturizing Microdermabrasion product, which I also love. But if Kiehl’s ever discontinues its scrub, I know Vasanti is there to save the day- and my skin.

Youngblood Anti-Shine Mattifier

There is a definitely a fine line between dewy skin and an oily mess. This mattifier product from Youngblood helped my skin stay on the right side of that line. I was really skeptical of this product at first, but it really works!

Caudalie Divine Oil

This dry oil is ah-mazing! It leaves your skin super soft without leaving an oily residue. It smells great too and even multitasks as a cuticle oil and nourishing hair oil.

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40

This stellar cream is one of the best sun protection face creams I’ve tried. It offers great protection while leaving a matte finish- no icky white casts here! As a black girl, I really appreciated that I could use it without it altering my actual skin tone. Plus it is great for layering under foundation. 

Big Sur

Cargo Lip Gloss

This lip gloss was immediately added to my cosmetic bag as soon as it arrived in my May box. The shade I received, Route 66, was great on its own or layered over my favorite lipsticks. I think this gloss started my 2013 addiction to lip sticks and lip glosses!

900x900

Juliette Has A Gun Not A Perfume

This seductive perfume is both elegant and spicy at the same time. Not sure how they did it, but it totally works!

900x900

Benta Berry G-1 Moisturizing Face Cream

I love this cream because it is moisturizing and also regulates oil levels so it was a great summer sample to receive. I will definitely add this to my skin care routine when the weather warms up again.

ChapStick Hydration Lock

I have used ChapStick since high school so getting this in my Birchbox was a bit puzzling at first. I mean, it’s not something I expected to receive in the box. But I fell in love with this more than I expected. I think I will need to kick my old ChapStick to the curb!

Folle de Joie eau de parfum

Folle de Joie, which translates to “ecstatic” or “crazy with joy”, is a fitting name for this playful yet sexy scent. Joie is a California brand of clothing and accessories and this fragrance perfectly captures the laid back vibe of the west coast along with the sophistication of the City of Light. 

Beauty Queen 900x900

theBalm cosmetics Stainiac

Stainiac is a lip and cheek stain, but I have used it solely for lips. I like how it provides a great, light stain that is not sticky or drying. It is also a buildable color so you can add more or even layer it with a lightly colored lip gloss, like the Cargo lip gloss or another brand. 

Number 4 Non-Aerosol Hairspray

I normally do not wear hairspray but was very pleased to get this in my December box. This spray offers a great flexible hold- so you get staying power without the crunch (ew!) that other hairsprays deliver. This formula is also earth-friendly, vegan, and free of parabens, sulfates, and gluten. It also has humidity resistance technology, which is great for us Southern girls!

So that’s my recap of my favorite Birchbox samples from 2013. I can’t wait to see what Birchbox discoveries will come in the new year!

XOXO,

roqberry

2 thoughts on “Best of Birchbox 2013

Leave a Reply

