POPSUGAR Must Have Box Review: October 2013

Image

Happy Friday everyone!

Okay, am I the only one who has had an insanely crazy week? From work to play to everything in between, this girl is soooo ready for the weekend.

Last week I got my October POPSUGAR Must Have box and it’s taken me this long to post a review. Since it is October the box took a theme of breast cancer awareness. But instead of giving us box of purely pink products (which I was anticipating- and kind of dreading), POPSUGAR gave us products from companies who have been supporters of cancer charities. So I thought this was a good twist to the theme.

Image

The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld

I’ve been in a recipe rut lately so I was happy to see this book. This book is targeted to those who know cooking basics (or even those whose idea of cooking is ordering take out). The recipes are simple and are great even for those like me who are experienced cooks but are seeking easy/quick-to-fix recipes to add to our culinary repertoire. Plus it is spiral-bound which makes it easy to use in the kitchen.

Image

Gorjana Bali Bead Bracelet

Okay, this is the one item I was really bummed about. It retails for $45 but frankly I have seen and own bracelets with more substance and style than this one. It just reminded me of a friendship bracelet I would have made when I was 10. Really disappointed with this bracelet. Especially when I see other bracelets on Gorjana’s site that are similarly priced and look much better. Oh well, You can’t win them all.

065

Stitch Fix $20 Gift Card

This was one of the items i was most excited to receive this month as I have been curious about Stitch Fix for a while. With this service I will receive 5 clothing or accessory items based on my profile and only pay for the items I wish to keep. This gift card can be applied to my first service and the usual $20 stylist fee will be waived!

059

NYX Collection Noir Liquid Black Liner and Smokey Shadow Palette

Another high note for me was seeing these cosmetic products. I currently use a gel liner that I love from MAC, but it is nice to have this liquid liner as an alternative. I’m so glad I got it in black too! Some other subscribers got it in brown. I am also happy with the eye shadow palette. The colors will work great on my skin tone.

063

The Wet Brush

This brush contains specially designed bristles that will eliminate any tugging, tearing or damage that often happens when we brush or comb wet hair. I have not yet tried this but am looking forward to putting it to the test.

067

The Crispery Halloween Crispycake

These treats put a spin on the classic treat. Basically a krispy treat that has added flair like caramel, chocolate, and candies. This one is layered with marshmallow fluff and sprinkles. Can’t wait to dig into this! Nom nom nom…

064

Jane Tran Bobby Pins

Ummm… not too much I can say about these. I likely won’t use these as I have short hair. But at least they are bobby pins for grown women, if you know what I mean. I hate it when some bobby pins are marketed to women but look like they are best worn by a 10-year old!

061

Julep For POPSUGAR Duo: Freedom Polymer Top Coat and Nail Lacquer in Coco

This is the other item I was super excited to see! I am already a Julep subscriber and love the Freedom Polymer, which makes your nails super shiny and smudge-free in less than 5 minutes. Trust me- it works! I also love the plum shade of the Coco lacquer.

Overall, I was okay with the box. I thought September’s box was better but at least it wasn’t as bad as April’s box. I do think I got my money’s worth (even with the weird bracelet). I’m really excited to try out Stitch Fix and I’ll post a review once I do that.

The October box has already sold out and November will be processing soon. Speaking of which, effective November 4, the Must Have box will cost $39.95. New subscribers can still save $5 off their first boxes by using code SQUAD5 or save $10 off a 3-month subscription with code SQUAD10If you upgrade to the 3-month option before November 4 that will be only $85 for 3 months, or $28.33 a month!

If you got the October box, I’d love to hear what you thought and which items you liked the most.

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

