Cold Case: My Essentials For Beating A Cold

Oh no. No no no no no. Is that…am I getting a sore throat?!?!

I think we’ve all had that feeling when we get that psychic sense that all is not well in our bodies. That feeling of the beginning of a potential cold can wreck havoc on your mindset. You start to ask if you have enough sick days, what medicine should you take. For me I often mentally launch an investigation to pinpoint the exact moment I caught the bug.

As I make a dive toward my medicine cabinet I am often greeted by a variety of options: unopened boxes that expired 2 years ago, opened bottles that I’ve used only once. It runs the gamut. I do have some standbys that I love to have on hand. Because nothing is worse than dragging yourself to the grocery store with a 101 degree fever and the cough from hell.

  • Mucinex. Oh my gosh! This stuff really works. I first used it years ago when I had a persistent cough and bad chest congestion. It really broke up the ick and made my cough better. Was the only thing that helped me sleep. I always keep it on hand.
  • Detox tea. I am convinced that this stuff has helped me shorten the length of colds and illnesses. When taken at the first sign of a cold or allergy attack it seems to nip it in the bud.
  • Zicam. Also great to use at the first sign of a cold. I keep a stash at my office too.
  • Cough and throat drops. I especially love Ricola and Burt’s Bees honey throat drops.
  • Altoids. Not necessarily a medicine but these curiously strong mints are great for opening up my sinuses and getting rid of that icky cough drop aftertaste.
  • Peppermint tea. I grow my own peppermint so making fresh tea is super easy. Besides fresh tastes wayyyy better than dried!
  • Soup. Because sometimes you just want chicken noodle soup to soothe that throat.
  • Ice cream. Okay this serves 2 purposes. It helps my throat and also provides comfort food when I get annoyed with being sick.
  • Lotion facial tissues. I used to turn my nose up (no pun intended) at these. Until a bad cold a few years ago made my red nose rival Rudolph’s. Seriously Santa called me to see if I wanted to take over the job. Lotion tissues definitely help. Kleenex’s cooling tissues also work great!
  • Peppermints, Werther’s and other hard candies. They sometimes help my throat and also make me happy.

You know, cold or not, some ice cream sounds really good right now!

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

