Birchbox September 2013: Heritage

20130928-111345.jpg
This month marks Birchbox’s 3rd anniversary. I can’t believe it’s been three years. In one way it feels like Birchbox has been around longer than that.

I got my two Birchboxes a week ago and just started sampling stuff a day or two ago. Here is what I got in the first box.
20130928-111754.jpg
Soak Laundry Wash
This wash is a rinse-free formula that is designed for items ranging from lingerie, sweaters, quilts and even baby clothes.

20130928-112019.jpg
Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Sensitive
This is the sample I was most excited to see! I have been curious to try Juice Beauty products for a while. I like exfoliating treatments and have heard this peel is gentle yet effective. The sample size is 0.25 oz so I should get a couple of uses out of it.

20130928-112249.jpg
Beauty Protector Daily Shampoo and Conditioner
So I go from a high to a low as these two products are the ones I was least happy to receive. I wish there was a way to opt out of receiving hair product samples as I have received samples every month and most have been from this brand. But I can use the shampoo to clean makeup brushes.

20130928-112538.jpg
Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Fox Hunt
This is a bold color I normally would not buy. But the lacquer appears to be of good quality.

That’s it for box number one. Here is what was in the second box:
20130928-112825.jpg
Beauty Protector Daily Shampoo and Conditioner
Again with these samples. Ugh.

20130928-112939.jpg
Mereadesso All-in-One Moisturizer
This product is an anti-aging day/night cream, serum, eye cream, toner and primer all rolled into one. Talk about multi-tasking! I love the design of this sample as it has a flap that snaps close in the back.

20130928-113251.jpg
GlamNatural Cream Blush in three shades
This is a super concentrated product that delivers a satin finish and a healthy glow to cheeks. I received three sample shades: Barely There, a pale pink; Sun Kissed, a medium/warm pink; and After Hours, a plum/burgundy shade.

20130928-113648.jpg
Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Hedge Fund
At first I was a bit skeptical of this shade, but once I tried it I do like it! It is a nice shade for fall.

So that’s what I received in my Birchboxes for September. I am a bit underwhelmed by my samples, particularly when I compare them to what I’ve seen in other unboxing videos. As I understand, there are 25+ varieties of boxes one could receive and I know the Birchbox algorithms are choosing the products that closely match my profile. I did make an adjustment to my profile today to see if that helps for October.

You can learn more about Birchbox or sign up by visiting their site. Subscriptions cost only$10 a month.

Leave a Reply

