DIY in Style: Popsugar Must Have September 2013

20130920-144213.jpg
Oh, someone just became a happy girl!

My September Popsugar Must Have box arrived in the mail and as usual, it started a bit of an emotional ride for me. Don’t get me wrong- I am happy being a subscriber. But usually I see previews of the box and then I am a little disappointed- I don’t often have the va-va-voom that I’ve had when I’ve viewed previous boxes. But then I get the box and I am delighted. So just like with the August box, I saw the previews and was like, “Meh.” But when I actually got the box I was very pleasantly surprised.

Quick recap for those new to the Popsugar box: this subscription box costs $35 and contents are often valued at over $100. I have always felt that I got more than my money’s worth with these boxes.

So let’s run through the awesomeness that was in the September box!

20130920-144809.jpg
The item I was most excited to see was this reed diffuser from Barr-Co. I have always wanted to try a diffuser and this one is a beauty. The original scent is a blend of milk, oatmeal, and vetiver. If you are like me you are like, “Um, what the heck is vetiver?” Well, besides being a great Scrabble word, it is an earthy fragrance similar to patchouli with a hint of lemongrass. I can’t think of a more perfect scent to welcome fall! The diffuser set retails for $46.

20130920-145857.jpg
The September theme is do it yourself, from projects for your home or working on a new project with a friend. This DIY book, P.S.- You’re Invited is by Erica Domesek, the DIY expert behind the website P.S. I Made This and contains more than 40 projects for various occasions. DIY is something I love in theory but often shy away from when it comes down to it. But this book has some projects I think even I can tackle: gilded vases, dotted edge table, and bookshelf inserts are among the projects that will turn any afternoon into a productive “crafternoon”. The book retails on Amazon for $14.

20130920-151806.jpg
This coaster set from Rifle Paper Co. will add a delightful touch of floral to the everyday. I often keep coasters in my living room, dining room, and even the bedroom. I can’t stand water rings on furniture! These coasters retail for $16 and are perfectly packaged in case one wants to gift them to a friend. Ooh, or maybe save them for the office gift swap!

20130920-152313.jpg
Okay, they just had to include something that would encourage me to shop, didn’t they? This $25 gift card to Shoptiques is a great introduction to the site, an online marketplace that let’s visitors shop global boutiques all in one place. Within a few minutes on the site I already found a ring, necklace and some bags that I want to add to my ever growing collection! Prices range from low ($30 ish) to $300 plus for a wide assortment of jewelry, clothes and bags.

20130920-153528.jpg
These headbands from Kitsch are great for trying out a new hairstyle or even holding my hair back during yoga classes. A package of five retails for $12.

20130920-153925.jpg
The last two items are edible: a That’s It, Bar and Sharkies. The That’s It, Bar came in an apple/mango flavor and only contains fruit items. Yep- apple and mango. That is really it! The Sharkies were listed as POPSUGAR’s Must Have Fitness item and they provide a quick energy boost before or during workouts. These are made from organic ingredients.

Well, ta-da! That is it for the September Popsugar box. I am excited to see what they will include for October. In fact, I’m already looking forward to the December box. Last year’s looked awesome and I can not wait to unwrap this year’s box.

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

