It’s a Birchbox Showdown! June 2013

20130630-122318.jpg
I always knew it would come down to this. The day when I knew that my envy of other Birchboxes would get the best of me.

Oh, I tried to fight it as long as I could. But I knew from the beginning that this would happen…

I registered for a second subscription to Birchbox! Mwha ha ha! (Cue the lightning flash, thunder and scary music)

Okay maybe it’s not that dramatic. But after seeing other unboxing videos as well as Birchbox’s own teaser videos, I would always get a serious case of Birchbox envy. “Oh, I would have loved to get that lipstick in my box!” or “Bummer, I could have used that SPF cream too!”

So I took matters into my own manicured hands and set up a second profile that had some slight modifications. Call it my alter ego or Alter-Birchbox. My second profile prefers no hair products and has a more classic taste in beauty products. The picture above shows the two boxes I received for June: the top one is for my original subscription while the bottom box shows what I got for my Alter-Birchbox profile.

June’s theme was Wanderlust and products were chosen that will be great to use for any summer adventures or getaways you have planned. Instead of describing each product I received (that would take forever) let me cover what I loved most and least in each box. Or as I call them- the Lovers and Leavers.

20130630-180155.jpg
The Lovers
Juicy Couture Couture La La Fragrance
This fragrance sample in the 1st box features sparkling mandarin and white floral notes and is a perfect light scent for summer. I love, love, love the fact that this is a spray sample- I so hate those with the stoppers.

The Laundress Wash and Stain Bar
I know it may sound weird to be excited about a laundry product. Or more specifically a stain removal product. But I have been curious about The Laundress product line for years and this is my official introduction. As the name implies you rub the bar on any stains and wash your clothes as normal.

FABULOUS by Isaac Mizrahi
Yet another great fragrance, this one was included in my Alter-Birchbox. Like Couture La La, FABULOUS has mandarin notes, but it is also laced with vanilla and jasmine. A fabulous combination, pun intended! I seriously don’t know which fragrance I love more.

Coola Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for Face
This year I am trying to be better about using SPF products, especially on my face and neck. I have been coveting the Coola moisturizer ever since I saw it in a teaser video a while back. What impressed me the most is the fragrance- a nice, fresh cucumber scent. It smells so nice! I also love that it goes on clear and doesn’t leave a white cast on the skin. Hooray!

20130630-180034.jpg
The Leavers
Color Club Nail Lacquers in Meet Me In London and Mod in Manhattan
Birchbox included one of four polishes in all June boxes. I love how they named the colors after the four international cities where Birchbox has offices. But I totally didn’t love the actual colors. Meet Me In London arrived in my 1st June box. It looks like an innocent mint green in the bottle, but becomes a bright neon green when applied. I thought I’d like Mod in Manhattan better- it appeared more like a pale pink in the bottle. But when applied it is more like an off white. Again, a color that I do not like. However, I may play around with these colors. It is likely that I can do some creative nail art with these. Ooh, maybe even try an ombrΓ© effect. We shall see…

Mirenesse Glossy Kiss Lipstick in Quick Kiss
I got the same shade of this Australian product in both boxes. Quick Kiss is described as a “daring orange” and I completely agree with that description! Orange and coral shades look terrible with the cool undertones of my skin color, so I will be sharing this product with two friends. On the flip side, the sample size was 4g while the full-size is listed as 3g on Birchbox.com and retails for $26.55. So considering each Birchbox costs only $10 a month, this is a crazy good value! If only the shade worked for me. Oh well- you win some, you lose some. The rich and creamy texture definitely makes me want to check out other shades.

I am glad that I created an Alter-Birchbox profile and am already excited about what will be in our July boxes. Any guesses on the theme? Birchbox Man’s July box is inspired by the USA Network show SUITS. Which got me thinking: what TV show would you like to see inspire a women’s Birchbox?

XOXO,

roqberry

One thought on “It’s a Birchbox Showdown! June 2013

  1. Pingback: Birchbox July 2013: Power Play | roqberry

Leave a Reply

