Grilled Cornflake Crusted Chocolate Peanut Butter + Banana Sandwich

20130525-133059.jpg
After what happened this morning, I may need to ban myself from watching Food Network and Cooking Channel for a while.

It all started it so innocently- I was watching TV late last night and Guy Fieri was interviewing a chef who made deep fried PB & J sandwiches. A light bulb went off- hey, maybe I can modify that recipe, using chocolate peanut butter and banana instead!

Fast forward to this morning as I bounced down the stairs to create my sandwich. I had this sample packet of Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dreams that I wanted to play with in the kitchen. I also had some Publix frosted flakes I could use. So I worked some kitchen magic and, feeling a little like a mad scientist, here is my creation. It’s alive!

Grilled Cornflake Crusted Chocolate Peanut Butter + Banana Sandwich
Ingredients (for 1 sandwich)
Egg white from 1 egg
3/4 cup frosted flakes
1 teaspoon of butter
2 slices of bread ( I used Arnold Honey Wheat Whole Grain bread)
2 tablespoons of chocolate peanut butter (or use regular PB if you’d like)
1/2 banana, sliced

Crush the frosted flakes with your hands onto a flat plate and set aside. Put egg white onto a separate flat dish.

Spread peanut butter on one slice of bread. Place banana slices on top of peanut butter. Top with other slice of bread.
20130525-133221.jpg
Now it’s time to dip! This will get a little messy. Take one side of the sandwich and either brush with egg white or lay/dip into egg white. Next lay this same side of sandwich onto the plate with the crushed flakes. Repeat with other side. If needed, sprinkle any leftover flakes onto the sandwich.

Melt butter in a small skillet. Once melted, place sandwich in skillet. Cook on medium-low to medium heat for 5 minutes. You want the flakes to lightly caramelize. Flip and cook for 5 minutes on other side.

Place cooked sandwich onto plate and devour immediately! Prepare for lots of “Mmmm’s” and “Oooooo’s” as this sandwich is perfectly sweet and filling.

I warned you. This sandwich is pretty darn awesome!

XOXO,

roqberry

Leave a Reply

