Spicy Crunchy Garbanzo Beans

20130517-171111.jpg
Recently I confessed my love for sweet foods. Well today I am confessing my other love: spicy foods. Mmmmm… the spicier the better, I always say! I haven’t met a jalapeño pepper I didn’t like. Hot sauces and salsas are my friends. I joke that I like a little pain with my food. I’m only slightly kidding when I say that.

A while back I was looking for spicy snacks that didn’t require a trip down the chip aisle. After seeing a recipe for roasted garbanzo beans, I decided to give it a try, adding my own spicy twist.

Spicy Crunchy Garbanzo Beans
Ingredients
1 cup of dried chick peas/garbanzo beans
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp red cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp sea salt
Dash of cinnamon powder
1/4 tsp of cinnamon sugar (optional)

First step is to soak the dried beans overnight in water.
20130517-172845.jpg
The next day, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Drain the beans and pat dry with a paper towel.
20130517-172956.jpg
Put beans in a large plastic brag and add vegetable oil. Shake to cover beans with the oil.
20130517-173039.jpg
Add all seasonings to the bag. Shake again to cover.
Place beans on a baking sheet. I lined my pan with parchment paper to minimize cleanup.
20130517-173212.jpg
Bake for 45 minutes. Remove pan from oven. You can sample the beans (be careful- they are hot) to see if additional seasonings are needed.
20130517-173341.jpg
Store beans in an airtight container. They will easily keep for a week- assuming they last that long!

XOXO,
roqberry

One thought on “Spicy Crunchy Garbanzo Beans

Leave a Reply

